Soppy Swing – Dave’s Review

My problem with the album is its very concept. As should be obvious from the title, Songs for Swingin’ Lovers! is full of love songs. Unfortunately every song is a cutesy-wutesy love song. It’s too much. Although there are some good individual songs, You Make Me Feel So Young and Pennies From Heaven in particular, as an album it fails to excite.

I’ve Got You Under My Skin is the exception. The track begins with the confident, assured tone that is characteristic of the record, but develops through an explosive instrumental section to a passionate finale.

This in album to hold hands to, maybe even snuggle to, but you couldn’t have sex to it.

★★☆☆☆

This entry was posted in Reviews, Swing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soppy Swing – Dave’s Review

  1. Fran says:

    TMI Dave! I love that we had the same reaction to this one though. I did struggle to decide how to rate it; I’d have given it 2.5 stars if I could. It’s interesting that we chose slightly different songs as the stand-out tracks.

    I re-listened to I’ve Got You Under My Skin after reading your review and I see what you mean about the instrumental section. I hadn’t noticed it when I was listening to the album; I suppose I’d switched off by that point!

Leave a Reply

