Not so Supreme – Fran’s Review

For some reason I just didn’t take to Where Did Our Love Go by the Supremes. The Supremes have beautiful voices. Diana Ross’s lead vocals are really lovely and the harmonies and backing vocals provided by Florence Ballard and Mary Wilson light up the record, but I felt like I was listening to the same song on repeat for half an hour. Baby Love was actually written to incorporate all the popular aspects of the Supremes’ first number one hit, Where Did Our Love Go, and while this approach created a good song (see them performing it on Top Of The Pops! below), it feels like the whole album was made this way.

As Dave has noted, Motown artists have a penchant for singing about matters of the heart, and this album sticks to the trend. With Where Did Our Love Go the Supremes have produced an album of love songs, although I suppose we should have guessed that from the title. Call me a kill-joy, but I have never heard a love album that didn’t irritate me at least a little bit. The Supremes make a good effort to avoid this by including plently of songs about romance gone wrong, but I would have loved to hear them explore other themes.

There are many good things about this album, and I do wonder whether I listened to it in the wrong context. Its soft sounds are probably better suited to a relaxed evening in, and I mainly listened while working away at the computer. Perhaps I would have enjoyed Where Did Our Love Go more under different circumstances, or maybe the post-Christmas slump meant I was always in the wrong mood for the Supremes’ soulful soppiness.

★★★☆☆

This entry was posted in Motown, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not so Supreme – Fran’s Review

  1. Dave says:

    You seem quite apologetic with your review, as if you saw I gave it five and felt bad giving it just three.

  2. Fran says:

    Nope. Didn’t read you review, just know that other people rate it very highly, and really wasn’t sure why I didn’t like it.

Leave a Reply

