Captivating, Seductive, Irresistable Woman – Dave’s Review

For the last two weeks, my ears have been oozing to the irresistible sounds of Woman, the debut album by Canadian-Danish duo Rhye.

I’m a fool for that shake in your thighs
I’m a fool for that sound in your sighs
I’m a fool for your belly
I’m a fool for your love

The album begins with its best song, Open. With its beautifully descriptive lyrics, slow, soft delivery and heartbeat bassline, it is wonderfully seductive. Singer Milosh has the most caressing of voices, holding vowel sounds, such as the ‘ooh’ in the middle fool, to emphasise the passion.

The Fall follows with the opening line ‘Ooooooh, make love to me’ and the cheeky second ‘one more time.’ This has been the song that has grown on me the most as I’ve listened to the album. I love the piano rhythm and the elephant-like trumpet squeal that comes in two thirds of the way in.

While the best two songs are the first two, the rest of the album is generally strong and continues along a similar tone of slow, sexy soul. Particular highlights include 3 Days and Hunger, which both have a more of a dancey bounce to them, a direction I hope the band might move into in their future work. The final song, Woman, is lovely quasi-instrumental piece that closes this relatively short album perfectly.

If you perhaps have a date with a special one and need something to play in the background, this will surely go down well.

★★★★☆

This entry was posted in R&B, Reviews, Soul. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Captivating, Seductive, Irresistable Woman – Dave’s Review

  1. Fran says:

    I also really liked Open and Hunger. I’m surprised you didn’t give it 5 stars though; it seemed like such a ‘Dave’ album. What was it missing?

  2. Dave says:

    I nearly did. I think the start and end of the album are 5 star worthy, but there’s a couple of songs in the middle that I found myself skipping.

Leave a Reply

