Adored – Dave’s Review

From a light, shimmering haze emerges a deep, sinister bass. A drumbeat enters and a guitar plays lightly over the top before transforming into a storming riff. It’s not until nearly two minutes in that we hear the voice of Ian Brown. The song grows throughout, with each of the elements of the band becoming louder, more passionate, more mesmerising.

She Bangs the Drums comes next, with its Smiths-like jangly guitar showing the band’s indie side. The excellent guitar and sea-shanty singing of Waterfall completes a great opening trio to the Stone Roses debut album.

Don’t Stop showcases the band’s more experimental, psychedelic character with backwards-playing guitars and unusual vocal style. This range of styles can be seen later in the album with the medieval Elizabeth and the laid back Shoot You Down.

Like it started, the album ends strongly. There’s a simple joy to This Is The One while eight minute epic I Am the Resurrection was the song that stood out most when I was lucky enough to see this legendary band play live at the start of the reunion tour in 2012.

★★★★★

This entry was posted in Madchester, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adored – Dave’s Review

  1. Fran says:

    Gosh, those are two very different reviews! I loved I Wanna Be Adored, and I really wanted to like this album, but the rest of it just didn’t live up to the opening track for me! I can imagine I Am the Resurrection being a bit like Moderat’s Milk in that it’s only OK on an album, but really stands out live.

    • Dave says:

      I’m a bit surprised you only gave it three stars, but I guess the Stone Roses has a very blokey appeal: greasy hair, big guitar solos and smashing drums. I can imagine songs like ‘This Is The One’ or ‘I Am The Resurrection’ lending themselves to football chants for example.

      I kind of rushed my review last night, but I think the Stone Roses are one of those legendary bands. The way they blend the indie sound of the Smiths with the 60’s psychedlia of Hendrix is wonderful. They are chilled out yet aggressive, pretentious yet simple-minded. Like the Beatles did so well, they manage to fill the album with catchy singles and still fit in some backwards experimentation, a medieval interlude and some overly long intros and outros.

      You probably already know this, but Oasis were obsessed with the Stone Roses. That’s why you can hear them so much in the guitar sound and the singing style and the haircuts. I personally prefer the Stone Roses as a band, although I admit I think Liam has a better voice and they wrote more catchy singles.

Leave a Reply

